Coffee and… Book Highlights of 2017 (so far)

I’ve read some truly amazing books this year. So join me in a coffee whilst I rave about them? 

The Coffee : I’m drinking Square Mile’s Mormora. An Ethiopian coffee brewed in a kalita filter. Black. Served in my Ravenclaw house mug. With a bonus side order of two chocolate cookies.


The Books (in the order I read them)


Ink by Alice Broadway 

This was one of my most highly anticipated reads and my first pre-order of 2017. It’s probably the most beautiful book on my shelf (inside as well as out). I loved everything about it. I have a tattoo that marks a significant life event, so being absorbed in a world where this was the norm was fabulous. It is a beautiful story of belief, remembrance, acceptance and questioning everything you know. I felt like I was growing up all over again with Leora, sharing in her confusion as she discovers that her world is not what she thought it was. The ending is an epic twist that I have still not emotionally recovered from. I can’t wait to get my claws into the sequel. 
Chango’s Fire by Ernesto Quinonez

I think this is one of my favourite hidden gems. I stumbled upon it looking to tick off an author whose surname starts with Q for a book challenge. I didn’t expect much from it, but it is a brilliant story about Julio, an arsonist for hire (I do love a good fire), his family and friends, his discovery of religion and the development of society around him. Julio makes one unfortunate mistake on a job and his whole world starts to crumble around him- the impact of that one event is huge. This is a beautifully written story with a wonderfully uplifting ending. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
The Sin Eater’s Daughter Trilogy by Melinda Salisbury

This woman keeps breaking my swinging brick heart and I keep letting her. I devoured the whole trilogy in under a week. Twylla is everything. I am powerless in the face of a beautiful redhead, but more than that, Twylla reminds me of a young me, before I realised that not everyone was trustworthy or had my best interests at heart. I loved watching her grow and develop a really strong moral sense in response to what was going on around her. Lief was also a heart-breaker, I loved him, hated him, loved to hate him and loved him again- he was a rollercoaster of heartbreak. Melinda’s world building is exquisite- sometimes I feel like I know Twylla’s world better than I do my own. And that suits me fine. If you haven’t read this trilogy yet, you really need to reassess your reading choices.
Orangeboy by Patrice Lawrence 

This was every bit as good as the rave reviews said it was. Marlon is a sweet boy who constantly finds himself in the wrong place at the wrong time. We join him on his journey of poor decision making as he tries to fix a problem and falls into a gang culture he knows little about. I spent most of the book screaming at him (literally) “No, don’t do that” and “think of your poor mother” (which must be my motherly instinct reading it’s sleepy head). Patrice kept me gripped until the end, as I desperately wanted to know Marlon was ok. If you haven’t read this one yet, you should. 
A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard

I picked up A Quiet Kind of Thunder, and didn’t put it down until I finished at 2am. I was gripped. I cannot say enough good things about this novel. This is Steffi and Rhys’s love story. It is two people finding a way to communicate in a world that places too much emphasis on speaking. It is a girl starting to address her mental health issues. It is also a story about friendship and family and defying expectations. It is brilliant. An absolute must read for any YA fan.
Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

After Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I thought it was impossible to love Laini Taylor any more. I was wrong. This is a stunning read. It’s one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. It is the kind of book you don’t want to read too quickly so you can savour the descriptions and enjoy the story. It is a marvellous tale of gods, people, books and dreamers. If you haven’t read it yet, you must.
The Other Side of Happiness by Ayisha Malik

This is one I picked up as part of the Ramadan Readathon and which I reviewed in full here. Think Bridget Jones without the booze. It’s amazing.
The Devil’s Poetry by Louise Cole

Loved this one so much I am in danger of this author taking out a restraining order against me. You can read the review I wrote for the blog tour here

That’s me done. What have been your favourite reads of 2017 so far? Let me know in the comments  (link your blog posts if you written about this?) on Twitter. I love to see what everyone else is enjoying! 

9 thoughts on “Coffee and… Book Highlights of 2017 (so far)

Leave a Reply

