Slaying my TBR – 7th July

So, Slaying my TBR is going to be my new weekly round-up. Here’s what I’ve read this week. 

George by Alex Gino

George is the adorable and heart-warming story of a girl who had the misfortune of being born in a male body. It took me a few pages to adjust to the narrator talking about George as a girl whilst everyone around her identifies her as a boy, and once I did I was constantly annoyed that people didn’t refer to her as a girl. I wanted to hit them over the head with the book. Many times. Although, as this is the story of her starting to reveal her identity to others, I should probably refrain from offences of Battery with a Hardback Book. I really felt for George, and when I saw how throwaway comments from her friend (“who cares if you’re not really a girl”) and her mum (“you’ll always be my little boy”) affected her, it hurt my heart. The addition of Charlotte’s Web and George’s identification with Charlotte is wonderful. I love the story (and Charlotte is a very excellent name), so it was lovely to see George so passionate about it. I found myself annoyed with her Mother who initially refuses to accept George’s identity and cheering when Kelly instantly accepted it and helped George to be herself, if only for a day at the zoo. It ends with a sense that George is really growing into herself and has a much happier future ahead. George is one of the most lovely books I’ve read, and I’d highly recommend it. 

Ask No Questions by Lisa Hartley

I’m on the blog tour for this one next Friday, so keep your eye out for my review of this new and exciting crime novel! It took me a while to get into and then when I did, I could not put it down. 

To Provence, With Love by T.A.Williams

Another one I’m doing a blog tour for on 27th of this month.  I enjoyed this and look forward to sharing my thoughts on the blog. Don’t miss it!

Release by Patrick Ness

I’m about half way through this one, so hopefully reviewing it in full next week. Thoughts so far: it’s awesome. 

What have you been reading this week? Let me know in the comments or on Twitter @charlottesburns

13 thoughts on “ Slaying my TBR – 7th July

Add yours

  1. George sounds awesome! You never really look at it that way, although it’s what all of us should do. I should maybe grab that one.

    Also, the rainbow scarf-cloth-background thing looks awesome! And are those white skittles?? O_o awesome photos anyhow 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s definitely worth the read. Such a genuinely lovely story.

    Thank you for the lovely comments. The rainbow thing in the background is a knitted shawl I made for myself earlier this year, and they are white skittles. Limited edition bags brought out for Pride.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m adding both of these books to my TBR asap! Thanks for such an awesome post.
    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.
    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

