Blog Tour: Ask No Questions by Lisa Hartley

” Excuse Me. No. No, it cannot end like that. WHERE ARE THE REST OF THE PAGES? There better be a sequel.”

These were my thoughts as I finished the last pages of this book.

Ask No Questions Cover

Ask No Questions, the new book from Lisa Hartley opens with a really strong, graphic image and we find ourselves immediately thrown into two stories that we know link together, but it takes until the very end of the novel to work out how and why. It took me a while to get into this, but once I did, I was hooked.

Caelan Small was involved in an operation which went wrong. Badly wrong. A young boy died and no-one seems to know what happened. Caelan lost someone she cared about, and retired from the force. Now, their main suspect is back and Caelan is ordered out of retirement to track him down. She takes her eye off the target for a minute and disaster strikes. Caelan becomes a suspect and as the story unfolds, so does everyone around her. It is impossible to know who to trust.

Caelan is a really strong character. At times, she reminded me of an early Lisbet Salander. She is something of a loner, she is extremely clever, can pull off any disguise, likes to be in control, and manages to outsmart most of the people around her. And yet, she also ends up as one of the main suspects in both cases. Everyone is a suspect. Noone can be trusted.

The novel has been described as a “nerve-shredding crime thriller” that “keeps you guessing until the very end” and I could not agree more. I had no idea where this was going and I loved that no matter how many times I thought I knew how it would end, no matter how obscure my own theories, I was always wrong. There are so many twists in the story that are unpredictable, but never unbelievable and this made the book for me. I like to be kept on my toes and surprised. This is one of those books that has you sitting up until the early hours whilst you read “just one more chapter”.

If you want to enjoy this thriller (and you should), you can find it here:

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/35486880-ask-no-questions

Amazon Link: https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B072X2MY21

* I received an ebook copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Opinions are my own genuine thoughts and not in any way influenced by this. My thanks to Lisa Hartley and Faye Rogers for the copy and inclusion in the book tour.*

About the Author

Lisa Hartley lives with her partner, son, two dogs and several cats.She graduated with a BA (Hons) in English Studies, then had a variety of jobs but kept writing in her spare time. I am beyond thrilled to hear that she is working on further books in this series. 

You can catch up with the rest of the blog tour here:

Ask No Questions Blog Tour Graphic (6).png

 

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Ask No Questions by Lisa Hartley

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

