Moments of Happiness 5

Readers, this week I am seriously struggling on the happy front. I fell over at the school, frantically running to find my “missing” child (it transpires, he’d gone back to get his carton of milk, because we never have milk at home <eyeroll>) I had to be picked up off the floor by the headteacher. Mortified is not the word. Turns out, I cracked a bone in my ankle and tore a bunch of ligaments, so I’m pretty miserable. I think when you’re miserable is the most important time to find something to be happy about. Here’s what I came up with:

The NHS

I was only there for two hours. Everyone was lovely. I had a triage, x-rays, diagnosis and was strapped up in a moonboot and home in time for a takeaway. How utterly awesome is that?

Fabulous Humans

A school mum who drove me home; a friend (also a nurse) who checked over my ankle and looked after my child whilst I went; another lovely friend who helped us through a birthday party the day after the break. Husband who has run around after me. All the lovely twitter people who have checked on me and entertained me. There are lovely humans in the world.

A Year of Dexter 

This week marks a year since this fluff came to live with us. 

August Readathon

Is it a cheat to count something you’re excited for? This month I’ve got myself into a Readathon of sorts, reading books off my bookshelf. I can’t honestly remember how this started, but RossNad, Cora, Naima and I shared details of books that have been on our shelves for longer than we care to admit (in my case a year or more). Each chose one book from the list to be read in August. There is an official “clear your backlog challenge”: Unhaulatahon, but we didn’t know this when we started, and what we’re doing is a tiny bit different, but if you’re looking to clear your backlog then you should definitely check out that Twitter feed.

Here’s what was chosen for me:

  • Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman (chosen by Ross and seconded by Cora)
  • Peter Pan in Scarlet by Geraldine McCochrean (Cora’s second choice)
  • The Coldest Girl in Cold Town by Holly Black (chosen by Nad)
  • The Little Coffee Shop in Kabul (chosen by Naima)

And because he’s so much better at it than I am, my 5 year old’s:

  • Cracking eggs into great-grandma’s cake
  • Library challenge (that’s my boy!!)
  • Getting Lego Superhero Airport Battle
  • Mummy buying me The Witches book

“That’s it now Mummy, I can’t just sit here chatting, I’ve got more important things to do, like build.”

      What’s been making you happy this week? 

         

        4 thoughts on “Moments of Happiness 5

        Add yours

        Leave a Reply

                Blog at WordPress.com.

        Up ↑

