Liebster Award

The lovely Sarah at Sarah Withers Blogs nominated me for the Liebster Award (see her post here).

Sarah is one of my favourite bloggers to interact with and I was honoured to be nominated by her to do this: Thank you Sarah.

the-liebster-award-nominated

About the Award

The Liebster Award comes from Germany and is a way for bloggers to show their appreciation of their fellow bloggers and share some recognition! The rules are:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog
  • Answer the questions your nominator asked you
  • Nominate 5-11 other blogs (and don’t forget to let them know)
  • Ask your nominations up to 11 questions or facts about themselves

There is no pressure to take part if you don’t want to do it, but if you do choose to, please link me to your posts so I can read them!

My Answers

What is your favourite thing about blogging?

Other people in the book blogging community. I have “met” some really lovely people online since I started blogging. So many other book bloggers messaged me when I had my operation to ask how I was feeling and I was genuinely touched by how much care they showed to someone they knew just from blogging. It can be a really lovely community and I love being part of it.

What is your least favourite thing about blogging?

Pressure. I’m sure I put at least half of it on myself, but the pressure to have read all the latest hyped books, the must-have netgalley reads, to get more followers, to publish a post when you can’t be bothered writing, and keeping on top of posting reviews to Goodreads and Amazon. I love reviewing and talking about blogs, but sometimes I get myself all muddled up and forget why I’m doing this in the first place.

Who is your favourite newly discovered author of 2017?

Woah Sarah, what is with all the tough questions? I have to pick one? Ok, I’m going with Louise Cole, because I really was not expecting to love her debut The Devil’s Poetry anywhere near as much as I did.

What’s the first book you remember reading as a child?

Mouse Cafe. I used to read it with my nana all the time when I was little. It was a story about a young girl mouse who went to work in a cafe to help support her parents and siblings. An older man mouse used to visit the cafe and became very concerned for her plight, so later married her and took her away to be treated like a princess. Obviously, in retrospect it seems a little sinister / grooming and a very problematic children’s story, but at the time I thought it was lovely.

Which book would you love to see adapted for the big (or small) screen – alternatively which book that’s already been adapted would you re-adapt?

Northern Lights. It’s been adapted once, but not very brilliantly. It needed to be scruffier looking and not called The Golden Compass. I’d like to see a TV adaptation of it so that it can be longer and more true to the book.

Tell me a bit about your favourite character, and who would be your dream casting?

Okay, my favourite character in Northern Lights by far is Iorek Byrnison, and he’s a polar bear, so I guess the casting is pretty much CGI? I’d love to hear him with the voice of Liam Neeson though. I think that would be a good voice for Iorek.

What’s your dream holiday destination?

I don’t really have one, I don’t think. We are going to New Zealand later this year, which is somewhere I’ve wanted to visit for a while. I’d love to go to Canada. Greece, South Africa and Japan would feature on my list too. I love holidays to the Lake District and the Scottish Highlands too because they are so peaceful and beautiful that I could never get board of being there.

Pizza or Pasta?

Hard question. I love both. To eat at home, pasta. Eating out, pizza. I have to eat gluten free for health reasons and I find that gf pasta tastes rubbish when eating out, but places like Pizza Express do brilliant gf pizza bases.

What would you like to be doing ten years from now?

In ten years, I will be the mother of a 16 year old boy. I’d like to not be screaming, ripping my hair out and necking neat gin from the bottle.

Which musician / band did you last listen to?

The Captain Underpants soundtrack because that is what my small human most wants to listen to right now. The last music of my own I listened to was a playlist I put together before my surgery and the last track on it that I listened to was I Hate Everyone by Get Set Go,.

What do you love most about the town / city you live in?

I love that where I live, I can be in the centre of a big town, out in the countryside or at the seaside all within a half hour drive. I get the best of all the worlds and Newcastle has some great bookish places and speciality coffee shops. What more could I want?

My Nominees

No pressure to accept at all! My nominees are:

My Questions

  1. What inspired you to start blogging?
  2. What has been your best moment as a blogger so far?
  3. Which book do you love and wish more people had read?
  4. What book did you hate that most other people love?
  5. Which book would you most like to live in?
  6. If you could eradicate one character from a book, who would it be?
  7. Why would you choose this character?
  8. Starters or puddings?
  9. Hot drink of choice?
  10. Which real life place that has featured in a book would you most like to visit?
  11. What’s next on your TBR?

I hope you enjoyed my answers. If you want to accept the award, I’d love to see your answers to my questions!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

