Coffee and…Why I Love Twilight.

This week, I’m sharing what might be my MOST unpopular / controversial book opinion (we’re all agreed Dumbledore = bad now, yes?) If you haven’t instantly unfollowed me after reading the title, then stick around with a brew and let me explain why I love this book everyone else seems to hate.

Coffee and....

The Coffee: This week, I am drinking the Ethiopian Kayon Mountain from Square Mile coffee roasters. In my creepy blood stained mug, because it seemed appropriate.

The Books: The Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer.

For a series of books that was once INSANELY popular, it seems that it’s now commonplace to hate the series and dwell on its problematic aspects. I’m not going to talk about those today (although I may at some point because – surprise surprise- I have many feelings and opinions on that too). A simple google of “why is Twilight problematic?” will give you hundreds of articles that address this point. I want to share ten of the reasons why I love it:

  1. It got me into reading again. After a really bad reading slump following the birth of my son and resulting mental health problems, I wasn’t reading much at all, but a friend recommended Twilight, and I was hooked. I’m not going to claim it’s the most beautifully written masterpiece there ever was, but I enjoyed the story and it got me reading again. That’s a win in my book.
  2. It introduced me to reading YA for pleasure. YA wasn’t really a thing when I was a teen. We had “point” books: Goosebumps, Sweet Valley High etc but there wasn’t the selection there is now, and what there was was mainly horror. I studied the (then) emerging YA at university and loved what I read, but it wasn’t until many years later with Twilight, that I read a YA book purely for pleasure. Twilight led me into The Hunger Games and Divergent (it seems everyone hates those too, but I LOVE them) and from there into more and more YA. More YA can only be a good thing.
  3. I love me a vampire story. The myth of the Vampire, creature of darkness who attains immortality at the expense of drinking the life from other humans fascinates me. I especially love a twist on the original myth: Angel from Buffy fascinated me for his life with a soul, Spike from the same series for seeking out a soul, Anne Rice’s Vampire chronicles for their deeply introspective characters and complicated relationships between vampires and humans. The element of trying to be a “good” vampire, the concept of the soul as the centre of morality, being a “vegetarian” vampire: all things that hook me in. Twilight has this. It also has werewolves.
  4. The Cullens are a wonderful family. There are some interesting discussions to be had around the ethics of Carlisle cherry-picking his relatives, but for the most part, the Cullens are a great example of a family. They may not be related by blood (not all families are), but they are loyal, they care for each other and they protect each other. Their willingness to accept Bella as a person Edward loves, in spite of the obvious difficulties this will cause them, is a really admirable. It’s nice to see a family like theirs in a book.
  5. Alice Cullen. How could you not love Alice? She is sweet, kind-hearted, weird and wacky. She can see into the future. I have all the love for Alice.
  6. Jacob Black. He’s loyal, he would do anything for Bella, he is her voice of reason when she’s being a total idiot; he saves her relationship with her dad post-immortality (for his own selfish ends, but no-one is perfect) and puts aside ancient petty differences to do what he believes is right (protecting Bella and the Cullens). Oh, and he’s a werewolf. I love a werewolf.
  7. Bella and Edward’s relationship. This one comes under a lot of criticism for Edward being abusive and using sex to coerce Bella into marrying him. (I don’t want to get into defending the criticism of this being problematic: I can see how the story -particularly the film versions- could be read that way. I see it differently. Yes, Edward is technically hundreds of years old. Or he has been a vampire that long at least. But he was made a vampire at the age of 17, and it is not beyond reason to think that a vampire of that age would be perpetually mentally 17. If creepy child vampires stay as children, why wouldn’t a teenage vampire BE a teenager?) Those points aside, Bella and Edward show that it is possible to fall in love young, marry young, and still be happy. As someone who met my now husband at 17 (and has several friends in the same position), it’s not often I get to see that kind of relationship in books. I’ve seen it criticised for being unrealistic. News flash: it happens. It’s good to see that reflected in books. Bella and Edward also show that starting a family young isn’t the end of the world. Again, lots of people do this, but it’s not so often written about.
  8. Bella’s breakdown is realistic. It’s fair to say Bella loses her shit when Edward leaves her. I didn’t have many teenage breakups (see the aforementioned meeting the love of my life at 17), but I did have a long distance relationship for 2 years where I only saw my then boyfriend (now husband) during holidays. I remember wailing and sobbing my heart out, before taking to my room and quietly breaking down. I stared at the wall. I pulled away from my friends. I played the same awful emotional songs over and over again. That intensity of emotion is a thing a lot of people experience, and Twilight shows them that it’s ok to lose your shit every now and then. I love the book’s ability to evoke those emotions.
  9. Bella survives a really traumatic birth and it doesn’t ruin her life. I had a traumatic birth with my son, but it doesn’t define who I am. And seeing that reflected in a book I read is one of the things that pulled me out of the worst of my depression.
  10. It ends happily. I am all for a heart-wrenching tale, but I loved that this ended happily. When I read this I NEEDED a happy ending and it gave me that.

Are you a Twilight fan or a hater? What do you think of my reasons for loving it? Do you have any unpopular book opinions of your own? 

 

13 thoughts on “Coffee and…Why I Love Twilight.

Add yours

  1. I’m a Twilight fan; passion, emotion, love triangles and all. I read the series a couple of times and even enjoyed the films. I think everyone reads a book differently and if you can take comfort from a book then why not? Reading is better than many other addictions.
    I recently read Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, I enjoyed the writing style and the way the story built. For me it was a compelling read which I thought would be good for a discussion or two. Then I read some of the other views online and was quite shocked by some of it.
    I’ve also read The One Memory Of Flora Banks by Emily Barr and The Lonely Life Of Biddy Weir by Lesley Allen. They all feature teenagers finding their feet in life and are as powerful as the reader wants them to be.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right Rosie! I love Twilight but see it get so much hate on social media and in reviews.

      I have Thirteen Reasons Why but not read it because I’ve been put off by the reviews.

      I adored The One Memory of Flora Banks.

      It seems we have similar tastes so I’ll give Thirteen Reasons a go soon and check out the other book you mentioned.

      Like

      1. Brilliant, I hadn’t actually heard of Thirteen Reasons Why before I read it, I saw it on Netgalley and misread the details, (think I must need stronger reading glasses) thinking it was a new release, when it has been celebrating ten years since its release. I didn’t even know it had been made into a TV serial at the time, (I prefer books to TV) so I was a complete blank slate when I read it.
        Hope you get a chance to read Biddy Weir, it is about bullying, but it is so beautifully written. An emotional subject which sadly resonates with so many, but again, one which many feel strongly about.
        Happy reading.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I loveeee this. It was so easy to be Twihard back in the day, and then the series became the red-headed step child that everyone makes fun of. But there is a reason so many loved the series to begin with, and you nailed those points! Well done, and thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

