Coffee and… November Book Haul

I thought I’d been really good this week with the hauling of books, because I haven’t been to the shops anywhere near as much as normal, but alas! It is not to be. Grab your cuppa and join me in a run down of the new additions to Mount Ted TBR.

coffee and...

The Coffee:

I’m drinking another Steampunk coffee this week. The Karimuki AA from Kenya, which is a really lovely filter coffee.

The Books:

Worry Angels by Sita Brahmachari and I Killed Father Christmas by Anthony McGowanimg_20171122_152208_0101723508185.jpg

The lovely people at Barrington Stoke sent me these two to read and review with the boy! We are looking forward to Worry Angels as worry and anxiety have been a big issue for S so far this school year, so it will be nice to have a book that focuses on this and gives us a way to discuss how to manage it. And who could turn down a story about Father Christmas? I’m hoping to read this one with him on the way to New Zealand as we start to get into the Christmas spirit!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

I am pretty sure I’m the only person in the world left who has not read this. It recently featured in an amaxing Kindle deal of 99p books, which seemed the ideal time to hop on that bandwagon.

Goodbye, Perfect by Sara Barnard

I loved A Quiet Kind of Thunder when I read it earlier this year, so when this was advertised I was desperate to get my hands on it. This promises to be a stunning read about the boundaries of loyalty and friendship and I cannot wait to read it. It’s getting rave reviews already and I have no doubt they’re well-deserved.

The Denounced by SJ Sherwood

I was sold on this when I saw it described as a must read for fans of The Hunger Games. Maze Runner and The Testing trilogy, which are some of my favourite books. I love anything dystopia and this one promises to be an excellent one.

 

The Carfax Chronicles Earthcry by R.A. Browell

img_20171122_152235_9962135200027.jpg

I picked this one up when I panic bought all the books at a recent Waterstones event. Partly because I had the urge to buy all the books ever and partly because the lovely Aimee of Summer Reads and Moonlit Dreams (how gorgeous is that blog name?) pretty much shoved it in my face saying “this sounds like you”. She was not wrong and she can definitely shove books in my face any time she likes. Oooh-er.

I am Thunder by Muhammed Khan

This sounds outstanding. A book about bullying, freedom, extremism and how far you will go to protect what you believe in. This is going to be a powerful and hard-hitting read. I am excited!

13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

A girl died for 13 minutes and it seems one of her friends tried to kill her. I have been seeing this around for a while and wondering if I should read it. Kindle gave me the nudge when they made it another 99p daily deal this month! It sounds like an interesting read and I do love a well-written whodunnit!

Dreaming of Florence by T.A. Williams

I absolutely adored the T.A. Williams book I read and reviewed earlier this year, so when I saw this on Netgalley, there was no way I could pass up the opportunity to read it. I am looking forward to escaping to Florence and hoping I am as bewitched by this as I was by To Provence, With Love.

The Suffering of Strangers by Caro Ramsay

I do have a weak spot for a Scottish crime book. I think it’s all those Rebus books I read a few years ago. This one sounds really dark and involves a stolen baby and a cold case unit. I love cold case stories, I like to see the police resolve historic crimes and justice prevail for the victims. I am looking forward to trying this one out!

A Pocketful of Crows by Joanne M. Harris

img_20171122_152310_0571806243091.jpg

I have been a huge fan of Joanne Harris since I first read Chocolat and she remains a firm favourite author. Joanne’s stories always have a dark twist (which regular readers will know appeals to me in a big way). This fairytale about revenge and a nameless wild girl just sounds perfect. I am hugely grateful to have been sent a proof copy for review. One of my big ticks off the blogger wish list!

Renegades by Marissa Meyer

This was one of my books I’m looking forward to in November. Dystopia with a feisty woman hell-bent on vengeance. I don’t need to explain why I got this one, do I?

Christmas at the Gin Shack by Catherine Miller

I was sent this by HQ Digital to review for the blog tour which I took part in last week. You can see my review here.

Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Kindle have been rocking their 99p daily deals this month. This is another I have had my eye on for a while but for some reason never picked it up even though it sounds very much my kind of read: another book about grief!

The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

My auntie is a big fan of Holly Black, and generally a good judge of dark books I want to read. This one has all my favourite features: assasins, murder, fairies, power struggles and betrayal. I love it already.

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater

img_20171122_152338_474952564645.jpg

I’ve never read a Maggie Stiefvater book yet, though I have several on my list and a couple on my shelves. I saw this one in a charity shop recently and had to bring the poor orphan home. Apparently it is the second in a series, so I guess I have to buy it’s sibling now too? Crying shame that is.

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir by Lesley Allen

“If you’re a bit of a weirdo, you will love Biddy Weir” Sold! Oh, you want more? Okay. It’s about a girl who learns to embrace her weirdness and find her place in the world. It is also about abuse and survival and learning to love yourself for who you are.

Out of the Blue by Sophie Cameron

Everyone on Twitter was raving about this, so I wanted it. I am fickle AF when it comes to wanting books. I want them all. This one sounds out of this world awesome though. I do love a good novel about grief and here it seems to be mixed with some fantasy elements as Jaya’s dad chases the angels falling from the sky hoping to catch one. And to top it off, it’s set in Edinburgh which is one of my favourite places. I am all the kinds of excited to read this one and thrilled I was approved for a netgalley copy.

The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

Five friends discover an ancient box and each make a sacrifice to the box, as well as  apact that they will never go back to the box alone or take back their sacrifices. Four years later things start to get weird. One of them has broken the pact and the box has plans. This one sounds strange and dark and twisty so I need to read it. I love the premise of it, it seems a little Buffy-esque with kids messing with ancient magic and wreaking havoc.

Take Me Far Away by Kemdi Ik

The cover for this on Netgalley drew me in and the synopsis has me hooked. This is a story about a girl trying to move on with life whilst her past trauma haunts her. I love a book ab out overcoming past trauma and the effects of memories on our lives. I’m looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

 

 

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne, Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen, What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne, and Usbourne YA Sampler

img_20171122_152408_6591927901408.jpg

This stunning pile came from the recent Holly Bourne event at Newcastle Waterstones, where I made good on my promise to buy all the books by Holly Bourne. These two are more of the Spinster Club series that started with Am I Normal Yet?, which is one of the best books I have ever read. Orphan Monster Spy was a proof in the goody bag (Aimee took one look and said it sounded like my kind of read, she is not wrong). It also refers to a blonde-haired, blue-eyed demon and I have my very own one of those, so it sounds perfect for me. I am also excited by all the books in the sampler so if it could just hurry along and be time for those to be out now, that would be grand.

Ok, I’m ending my haul there. I did get some more books this month, but they’re going to be part of one of my blogmas features, so you’ll have to wait to see what else I got this month. Okay? Okay.

What books did you add to your collection this month? What do you think of my choices? 

One thought on “Coffee and… November Book Haul

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: