Blog Tour: An Extract from The Last Act by Brad Parks.

Today is my spot on the blog tour for The Last Act by Brad Parks, and I’m going to be sharing an extract from the novel as well as some information about the book.

LastAct (1) (1)

About the Book:

Title: The Last Act

Author Name: Brad Parks

 Release Date: 14th March 2019

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Book Blurb:

The thrilling new page-turner from the author of Say Nothing, perfect for fans of John Grisham, Harlan Coben and OZARK.

Former Broadway star Tommy Jump isn’t getting the roles he once did. As his final run as Sancho Ponza draws to a close, Tommy is getting ready to give up the stage, find a steady paycheck, and settle down with his fiancée.

Cue Special Agent Danny Ruiz. An old school friend of Tommy’s, now with the FBI, Ruiz makes Tommy an offer that sounds too good to refuse. All Tommy has to do is spend six months in prison, acting as failed bank robber ’Pete Goodrich’.

Inside, he must find and befriend Mitchell Dupree, who has hidden a secret cache of documents incriminating enough to take down New Colima, one of Mexico’s largest drug cartels. If Tommy can get Dupree and reveal where the documents are hidden, the FBI will give him $300,000, more than enough to jumpstart a new life. But does he have what it takes to pull off this one final role?

 

Capture

 

Extract:

They confronted him shortly after dark, maybe thirty feet from the safety of his car. Kris Langetieg— husband, father, a able redhead— had just emerged from a school- board meeting. He was walking head down alongside the lightly tracked side street where he had parked, eager to get home to his family, distracted enough that he didn’t notice the two men until they were already bracketing him on the narrow sidewalk. One in front, one behind. Langetieg recognised them immediately. The guys from the cartel. His loafers skidded on a fine layer of West Virginia grit as he came to a halt. A thin summer sweat covered his upper lip. “Hello again,” one of them said. The one in front. The one with the gun. “What do you want?” Langetieg asked, sweat now popping on his brow. “I already told you no.”  “Exactly,” the other one said.The one behind. The one closing fast.
Langetieg braced himself. He was a big man. Big and soft. Panic seized him.
A man in front. A man behind. A fence to his right. A truck to his left. All the cardinal points blocked, and his car might as well have been in Ohio. Still, if he could get his legs under him, if he could get his arms up, if he could get some breath in his lungs……
Then the current entered him: twelve hundred volts of brain-jarring juice, delivered through the wispy tendrils of a police- grade Taser. Langetieg dropped to the ground, his muscles locked in contraction. The doors of a nearby panel van opened and two more men emerged. Both were Mexican and built like wrestlers, low to the ground and practical. They picked up Langetieg’s helpless bulk and dumped it in the back of the van. As the van got under way, the wrestlers blindfolded him, bound his wrists and ankles, and stuffed his mouth with a dish towel, securing it in place with another binding. Each task was accomplished with the ruthless efficiency of men who had done this before. Langetieg’s only sustaining hope was that someone saw what had happened; someone who might even recognise that an assistant US attorney for the Northern District of West Virginia was being taken against his will. He strained to listen for the blare of sirens, the thump of helicopter rotors, some reassuring sound to tell him his captors hadn’t gotten away clean. But it was a hot summer evening, the kind of night when folks in Martinsburg, West Virginia, were still inside, savouring their air-conditioning. So there was nothing. Just the hum of tires on asphalt, the whoosh of air around moulded steel, the churn of pistons taking him farther from any chance of rescue.
For twenty- five minutes, they drove. The ropes bit his skin. The blindfold pressed his eyes. A small corner of the dish towel worked its way farther back in his throat, nauseating him. He willed himself not to puke. He already couldn’t breathe through his mouth; if the vomit
plugged his nose, he’d suffocate. Lying on the floor of the van, he felt every bounce, jolt, and jerk of the vehicle’s suspension. He could guess where they were travelling, albeit only in vague terms: first city streets, then highway, then country roads. Soon the ride got rougher. The relative hush of the asphalt was replaced by the cacophony of gravel, of tires crunching on small stones, spinning them up to ping on the underside of the vehicle. Next came dirt, which was bumpier than gravel or asphalt, but quieter. The loudest sound was the occasional brushing of weeds against the chassis. Finally, they stopped. When the doors swung open, Langetieg smelled pine. The wrestlers grabbed him again. No longer paralysed, Langetieg bucked and thrashed, howling into his muzzle like the wounded animal he was. It didn’t accomplish much. “You want to get tased again, homie?” one of the men asked in Spanish- accented English. Langetieg sagged. They carried him twenty more feet, then up a small set of steps. He was inside now. The pine scent vanished. Mildew and black mold replaced it. He was untied one limb at a time, then just as quickly retied, this time to a chair. Only then did they remove the blindfold. The lead cartel guy stood in front of him, holding a knife. The gag came out next. “Wait, wait,” Langetieg said the moment his mouth was free. “I’ve changed my mind. I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll do—”
“Sorry,” the man said. “Too late.”

About the Author

Brad Parks is the only author to have won the Shamus, Nero and Lefty awards, three of crime fiction’s most prestigious prizes. A former reporter with the Washington Post and the Star-Ledge (Newark), his two most recent novels are the stand-alone thrillers Say Nothing (2017) and Closer Than You Know (2018). He lives in Virginia with his wife and two children.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: